Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Well, another year has come and gone. It’s  true…birthdays come a lot faster when you get older. 

This year has been more about changes for our kids than for me. Isabel started a good job, and moved into an apartment with her girlfriend.  She’s doing really well, and is happy.

Ben graduated from high school; and, in an unfortunate set of circumstances, stayed here for school and is not playing football. He has completed EMT training, and is going to go through the fire academy. Staying here has been a growing experience for him and led him to a new path.

Each kid totaled a car, and walked away relatively unscathed. I have a few silver hairs due to late night phone calls.

 Ben has saved a life and stayed with another as a life ended.

Dave continues cancer-free and working away.

And me? I’m here.

After the long weekend, I was asked if I did anything special. The truth is, other than some chores, and dinner with my family, I spent the time drawing. Over the past year, and especially in the past couple of months, I have gained ground and confidence. I want to get better…oh, how I want to get better; but, I just keep plugging away, and every once in awhile, I draw something that looks like what I intended.

It was nice to have the quiet time. There’s been enough drama in the past couple of years that quiet is good.

It’s been a stressful year due to politics. I’m not proud of the fact that I’ve lost friends because of politics; but, I won’t apologize for speaking up, marching against the administration, or limiting interactions with those who deliberately set out to bait me or people I love.

In the coming year, I’m going to volunteer for the Democratic Party. I’m not sure how, yet; but, I will figure it out.

I’m going to keep working. Health insurance is a dicey game these days; but, it’s what I know.

I’m going to keep drawing…I am going to try new techniques and styles.

I’m going to move my body and take care of myself.

I’m going to celebrate twenty-five years of marriage to a good, good man

I’m going to try to be the best wife, mother, daughter, and friend that I can be.

For 49, that should be good…doncha think?

