Tags

,

What tiny rituals: signal that your day is starting; help you ease into a creative project; give you closure from an intensive task; or mark other significant milestones in your day? What new rituals would you like to create in the new year?

I don’t know exactly how long ago I started this; but, I start each work day by preparing a To Do list.

I get to work early, before phones start ringing or emails start bubbling up. I have a little pad of paper and I write out the things that need to get done. They’re in no particular order, and the list serves more as a reminder or guideline than an actual demand. My job is such that multi-tasking is mandatory and no day is ever the same. If I get to cross off half of the items in a day, I consider the day to be extremely productive.

At the end of the afternoon, I typically put the phones to voicemail and set about clearing my email inbox. It allows me to complete little tasks, send out last emails and make sure that I haven’t missed anything.

I get pulled in a lot of different directions in a day. By using these rituals at the beginning and the end of my work day, I’m able to juggle several balls at once.

I am participating in Reverb 14. We are taking time to pause, reflect and release this year gently. If you’d like to join us, we would love to have you. Just go to I Saw You Dancing to sign up.

20121006-205634.jpg

