Tags

,

I will post more over the next couple of days, but I just want to take a moment and thank everyone for the outpouring of kindness, love and support that have been showered over our family.

Dave is home tonight, and it will be a tough couple of days. He’s in a lot of pain, and he still has the drains coming out of his side.

But, he’s home.

We didn’t think that Dave would be home for Christmas; but, he is a relatively healthy guy, aside from the tumors. With his great blood pressure, and the fact that he did exactly what he was supposed to in the hospital actually got him ready much sooner.

Each day, we’ve received lovely handprints from friends near and far. Our dear friend, Jennifer, put out the call, with the lovely tradition from the Catholic faith of laying hands over someone. The idea that so many people joined in, and traced their hands, decorated them and sent them brings tears to my eyes.

I’ve gotten emails, private messages, tweets, etc. I am so grateful. In some of the scariest moments, so many of you were there for us. I couldn’t have done it without you. Or, without my mom. Every day, I would call her on my way to the hospital and on the way home. When the wife of Jerry, the roommate, set my teeth on edge, or when I was frantically melting down , trying to find a pharmacy open later than 6:00 on Saturday, my mom calmed me down by letting me vent.

Now, we can focus on getting Dave through his recovery. We will have a Christmas, after all. Before the surgery, when Dave & I did our Christmas shopping, we decided that we wouldn’t get each other gifts. Getting through the surgery would be enough.

Tonight, I got to open my gift early, as did he. Dave is home, and he’s cancer-free.

20131221-210947.jpg

