Tags

,

20131207-123733.jpg

Day 7: Reveal your self(ie)

Please post your favorite picture of yourself from this year, selfie or otherwise.

I’m not a “picture” person. Thanks to iPhones and the like, there are more photos of me now than at any other time in my life. A couple of years ago, I started taking a picture of myself each year on my birthday. I don’t necessarily share them with anyone, but it’s interesting to see how I’ve changed.

This year’s photo just makes me sad. It was taken just a couple of days after Dave was first diagnosed. The fear and sadness in my face is gut-wrenching to me. Seeing the photo takes me right back to those awful days. I was going to use it for this post, but I can’t bear to see it.

The photo above is one from about a week ago. I’ve gotten past the hang-ups I have about my nose (thanks Dad…the ONE thing I get from you?) and I’m learning to “live” in my own skin. What choice do I have, right? People tell me all of the time that our kids look a lot like me. I am starting to see it as they get older, and it’s kind of cool. Genetics are a pretty incredible thing.

20131201-075605.jpg

20131201-075449.jpg

I’m participating in Kat McNally’s REVERB13. Won’t you join us as we take time in December to slow down and look inside? Click the image above to go to her site, I Saw You Dancing

