Tags

, , , , , , ,

20131207-123004.jpg

#Reverb13 | Day 6
Cheers to another year older.
Prompt for December 6:

Blowing out the candles | You’re another year older! How did you celebrate the passage of another year? Did it turn out the way you had hoped?

This year is nothing like I’d hoped. My birthday is in May, and this year, I’d planned to spend it with friends I made through Reverb10.

UncleTypewriter was coming to the States from London, and was going to be in Vegas that weekend. I live five hours by car, or less than an hour by air, from Vegas. She was coming from a whole other continent. I could certainly get there.

Even better, Little Yawps was going to meet us there. We planned a glorious weekend of poolside beverages, fabulous food, shopping and deliciously snarky people-watching.

Dave got sick a couple of days before I was to leave and ended up in the hospital. Even as he was hooked up to IVs and getting poked and prodded, he kept saying, “You’re going to Vegas.”

It wasn’t meant to be, and I don’t regret staying home. Our lives changed forever on the afternoon we got home from the hospital. If I had gone ahead with my trip, I never would have forgiven myself. As it was, I had run to the pharmacy to pick up prescriptions, so I wasn’t with Dave when he first heard that he had cancer. That was a dark, terrible day.

My birthday typically falls on Memorial Day weekend, so we had several days to sit around, stewing, before we could get in to see an oncologist. I’ve started taking pictures each year on my birthday, and I can’t bear to look at this year’s photo. All I see is sadness, fear and worry.

My mother had us over for dinner, as she does. There were presents and pretty pink lemonade cupcakes with frosting. The frosting had sparkly edible glitter, and are just about my favorite thing ever.

I can’t wait to finish out this year. I’m not one that is much of a believer in bad luck or unlucky numbers, but 2013 has been a bitch.

20131201-075605.jpg

20131201-075449.jpg

I’m participating in Kat McNally’s REVERB13. Won’t you join us as we take time in December to slow down and look inside? Click the image above to go to her site, I Saw You Dancing

