Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

20131206-173423.jpg

Challenge accepted.
Prompt for December 5:

Challenge | Did you take on a new challenge in 2013? What was it? Are there challenges you deliberately avoided? What do you want to do to challenge yourself in 2014?

A couple of years ago, I got a wild hair, or hit a mid-life crisis or something. I became obsessed with roller derby and decided that it was a good idea to join a team.

I was forty-three, and I hadn’t been on skates since I was twelve. Oh…and, I wasn’t a good skater then.

I joined a gym, and as the date for try-outs got closer, I realized that I probably needed some additional incentive. I hired a personal trainer and started working with her three days a week. I was so much stronger, and my endurance was better than it had been in years.

The date for training camp came around and I overcame some really big fears to try out. It was the scariest thing that I’d ever tried; but, it was absolutely the MOST fun that I’d ever had. It’s amazing how you lose your hang-ups about how you look or that you might stand out. When you go home from practice soaked with sweat, wearing crazy tights and fishnets over them, your hair matted down under a bandana, you realize you don’t care. You develop a swagger when you realize you can take a hit, climb out of a pile or pop-up from a slide, all while wearing less padding then a football player and on skates to boot. Every bruise is a badge.

Things were progressing. I wasn’t great, but I was getting better and I was learning and having a blast.

Then, I broke a bone in my foot. Actually, I rebroke a bone that I’d originally snapped in college. It had never healed correctly, and was now giving me a lot of trouble. I had to drop out of the Cherries group, and sit out the skills tests and the draft.

By February, our contract with our trainer was up and I lost all motivation.

I used the excuse that it was too expensive to sign another contract (it was expensive,) and began avoiding the gym.

There have been a few half-hearted attempts to get going again; but, I need another goal to work toward. I don’t think that roller derby is in the cards for me. As much as I loved doing it, it’s a very big time commitment, and I’ve seen some of my derby girls suffer some really gruesome injuries. I realize that getting out with some relatively simple breaks is probably the best that I can do.

I still have my helmet, and gear. In my heart, I’ll always be Belle Throttling.

20131201-075605.jpg

20131201-075449.jpg

I’m participating in Kat McNally’s REVERB13. Won’t you join us as we take time in December to slow down and look inside? Click the image above to go to her site, I Saw You Dancing.

