Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

desert

It’s been a year of self-preservation.  I bury myself in mindless puzzles, flip through magazines, and watch banal sitcoms…my attention span too fragmented to commit to anything more satisfying.

I used to devour books, reading ten or twelve a month.  Now, I’m lucky if I can finish a chapter.

The internet is both a blessing and a curse.  I can jump from site to site, spending only enough time to glance through headlines before I’m clicking away, following another rabbit down another hole.  I don’t stay in any one place too long.

Drawing is one of the things that has given me some peace.  With a sketchbook before me, and pencils in my hand, I can calm the tide that pulls the sand from beneath my feet and drowns me in worry.

I can focus on light and shadow, the blending of colors and how the weight of a line can convey emotion.

Until worry is no longer my constant companion, it will be lean times for my soul.  It’s safer that way.

20131201-075605.jpg

20131201-075449.jpg

I’m participating in Kat McNally’s REVERB13. Won’t you join us as we take time in December to slow down and look inside? Click the image above to go to her site, I Saw You Dancing.

(image credit)

