Tags

, , , , , , ,

20130820-221822.jpg

My mother and I have a long-standing, good-natured argument.

When I was growing up, my mom made spaghetti sauce a certain way. It would simmer all day on the stove, filling the house with the smells of tomatoes, garlic, onions, and peppers. It was thick, and meaty, with a sweetness that I’ve always liked.

Sometime after I went away to college, my mother switched to a different recipe. It’s much thicker, not nearly as sweet, and has a very spicy kick.

Mom swears that she makes her sauce exactly the same way as she always has. I am here to say that, while the “new sauce” is very good, it is nothing like the sauce I grew up with. I started making my own version once I had a family. Mine is more like the “old sauce.”

When we get together with my parents for dinner, and Mom makes her sauce, the conversation devolves into whether or not there was ever an “old sauce.”

Over the weekend, I made a pot of sweet, rich “old sauce.” Fortunately, Dave and the kids are perfectly happy with my version, which is really the version I learned from my mother.

20121006-205634.jpg

This year, as in the past couple of years, I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s “The August Break.” It’s an opportunity to just be present, look around your world, take photos, and post them to your blog. There are no rules, other than to use this as an opportunity to recharge your batteries a bit.

If you’d like to participate, join in…there are some amazing friends out here, just waiting to meet you.

