Tags

, , , ,

It’s August 1st, and we’re on the downslope of summer. It’s been hot, and life has been decidedly unsettled these past couple of months. To say that I am ready to be done with summer is an understatement. While I’ve gotten back into drawing, I have done less writing. As is more my style, I tend to withdraw when I am scared, hurt or angry. I have been all of those things this summer. I have not been a good friend and have withdrawn into myself.

This year, as in the past couple of years, I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s “The August Break.” It’s an opportunity to just be present, look around your world, take photos, and post them to your blog. There are no rules, other than to use this as an opportunity to recharge your batteries a bit.

Each day in August, I’ll be posting a picture of…well, of something.  I’ve found, when participating in this project in the past, that it helps to relieve the fatigue of summer heat.  If you’d like to participate, join in…there are some amazing friends out here, just waiting to meet you.

This year, Susannah has included a list of prompts.  Sometimes, the magic photo doesn’t just present itself, and everyone can use a little bit of inspiration.  Today’s photo prompt is “Breakfast.”

If it were the weekend, I would hope that my photo would be of a plate of fluffy pancakes or maybe an omelet.  When I was in college, the joke was always, “Breakfast of Champions:  Tequila and a Chocolate Doughnut.”  Since it’s a Thursday, and I am long past college, the photo is of my usual weekday breakfast, a cup of Lady Grey tea.

Several years ago, in my previous job, I had the opportunity each year to travel to a little town outside of Richmond, VA for enrollment meetings.  The client had a campus way back in the rolling hills, on a property with big meadows and tall stands of trees all around.  They were a treatment facility for girls with eating disorders, and part of their therapy was working with horses.  I would stay at a bed & breakfast run by two Southern gentlemen.  Each morning, before making the drive to the campus, I would come down to a simple breakfast served on beautiful china, and a steaming cup of Lady Grey tea in a delicate teacups.  Since then, my tea of choice is Lady Grey.

Friends, knowing that I am a tea drinker, have shared other blends and offered different types of tea to try.  I always go back to Lady Grey.  I don’t eat breakfast during the week, but I make a cup of tea every morning, regardless of the temperature outside.  The citrusy scent is soothing to me and lets me ease into my day.

Normally, I drink from one of several mugs or cups that I keep here in the office.  Some are pretty and some are funny; but, today, all are home in the dishwasher.  This morning, I sat with the cup in my hands and watched out my office window.  One of the quail families, the chicks now “teenagers,” strolled by, and there was a jackrabbit out in the bushes across the drive.

lady grey

Here’s to August…a busy month with kids back to school, birthdays, and our wedding anniversary.

20121006-205634.jpg

