Tags

, , , , , , ,

What was lost in 2012? What do you intend to find in 2013?

Belle Throttling

Every minute of every day, we wear a hat or a label – mother, wife, broker, chauffeur, nurse, accountant, housekeeper, cook…the list goes on and on.

It is so easy to get lost in the labels and lose your sense of self.

This year, one kid graduated from high school and the other started high school.  I got lost for a while in the changing identity of me as a mother.  I had to learn to let go of my kids like never before.

They are their own people, and though they still need me, I had to begin to find the me that isn’t wrapped up in my kids when I’m not at work.  I had to relearn some things about me.  Yes, I’m a mother, but I wasn’t, and want to be again, other things, too.

I spent a lot of time experimenting, and trying on different hats.  Some were a better fit than others, and some just need some adjustments to sit comfortably.

The derby thing…maybe wasn’t a permanent hat; but, it’s a great story.

Artist, writer, friend.  These are the pieces of me that I found this year, and that I hope to wear more fully in 2013.

20121006-205634.jpg

I’m participating in #Reverb12.  Through participation in the Reverb projects, I have made some treasured friends, learned a lot about myself and gained invaluable experience as a writer and as an artist.  Reverb12 is the chance to bid farewell to 2012, and to look forward to 2013 with an open heart.  Join us, won’t you?

