Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

What was the best book you read in 2012, and why? (And by “Why?” I mean: Why did you read it? And why was it your favourite? Although these answers could be one and the same…!)

019

Far and away my favorite book this year was “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.

I read it, and then immediately reread it.  I’ve been tempted to start it again; but, I’m making myself wait until I have completed several projects and read the books for my book club.  Typically, I’m not one for novels of fantasy…very few capture my imagination like “The Night Circus” did.

From the very beginning of the book, I was captivated.  Le Cirque des Reves, or Circus of Dreams…what could be better?  I want to be a reveur and wear a crimson rose in my lapel, or a scarlet scarf around my neck, and I want to follow the circus from destination to destination and wander among the tents as the stars shine above.

I want to watch the watch Herr Theissen’s great clock as it goes through each of the phases, from dusk to dawn and watch the clouds drift across its face.

I want to eat chocolate mice and walk through the Ice Garden.

I want to see the magnificent flames as they dance in different colors.

I want to be a guest at one of Chandresh’s magnificent dinner parties and to trace the branches of the tree through Marco’s notebook.

I want to run away with a magical circus, where time slows and dreams become realities.

I wish that I could read this book each time as if it were the first time.

20121006-205634.jpg

I’m participating in #Reverb12.  Through participation in the Reverb projects, I have made some treasured friends, learned a lot about myself and gained invaluable experience as a writer and as an artist.  Reverb12 is the chance to bid farewell to 2012, and to look forward to 2013 with an open heart.  Join us, won’t you?

