Tags

, , , , , ,

How are you going to celebrate your self this festive season? 

004

Sometimes, it’s hard to justify celebrating yourself, especially at this time of the year.  We’re constantly reminded that it’s the season of giving and that sharing is caring.  We need to focus on others.  Celebrating one’s self is almost sinful.

But, why shouldn’t we take care of ourselves and do something nice now and then?  Taking a moment once in a while shouldn’t be considered a luxury…it should be required.

After days spent running this kid to practice or that kid to some school event, cooking, cleaning, laundry, and working full-time, a spare moment stolen for myself is the only way to preserve my sanity.

Every once in a while, I will find a way to do something for myself…something out of the ordinary.  It could be as silly as a Baskin Robbins ice cream cone for lunch, or getting into the car in the middle of the night and driving miles outside of the city to get away from the city lights to watch a meteor shower by myself.  It could be playing hooky on a workday afternoon to sneak off to a museum.  It could be something as simple as sitting in my quiet living room, with only the lights of the Christmas tree.

So, I suppose the answer to this prompt is “nothing special.”  I intend to tuck the little special moments in among the rest of the busyness of my everyday life.

20121006-205634.jpg

I’m participating in #Reverb12.  Through participation in the Reverb projects, I have made some treasured friends, learned a lot about myself and gained invaluable experience as a writer and as an artist.  Reverb12 is the chance to bid farewell to 2012, and to look forward to 2013 with an open heart.  Join us, won’t you?

