Tags

, , , , , , ,

026

This is a wreath that my Aunt Denny made for my grandmother.  It hung on my grandparents’ front door every year during the holidays.

There are twelve angels…one for each grandchild.  My grandmother collected angels, and so it was fitting that my aunt would depict us that way.  I’m the blond angel at 11:00.  Next to me is our cousin, Fred.  Fred died several years ago, and seeing “him” here is bittersweet.  The rest of the cousins are spread far and wide…all over the world.

I’m not quite sure how I ended up with the wreath, but I’ve always loved it.  I even made Christmas ornaments out of felt one year, in the same style.  The leaves could use a bit of sprucing up, but every time I see it, I think of holidays when we were all together, running through my grandparents’ home, playing circus, climbing the mulberry trees and pretending that the limbs were elephant trunks.

20120831-221041.jpg

This post is part of the #adventcalendar project.  Just like the advent calendars of our youth, for each day until Christmas, I will post random images as a countdown of sorts.  This was inspired by my friend D at www.emmatree.com.  Won’t you join us?

