Tags

, , , , , , , ,

REVERB12:  Living life on a transplant waiting list gives you lots of reasons to reflect on what you’ve achieved in your life, and what you wish for the future.

Imagine a scenario where you only had one year left to live. What is one thing that you really wish to do that you just haven’t had the chance to accomplish yet?

What steps could you take (however small) to ensure that you accomplish this thing in 2013?

CULTIVATE 2012:  Time: Time is a valuable resource. Did you spend your time wisely this year? What can you do to cultivate more quality in your time during 2013?

 

IMG_2988[1]

It’s tempting to say that, given a year left to live, I’d spend my days traveling…Paris or anyplace on the beach would beckon.

I’m not much for bucket lists.  There are things that I want to do and see before I die; but, if I only had a year to live, it wouldn’t be about me anymore.  Losing loved ones, watching dear friends fight dreadful diseases, and facing my own health scare clarified the fact that it I would need to make sure that all of the important things were said, that the ones that I love would have no doubt of my feelings for them.

I would want to make sure that my children could live every day of the rest of their lives secure in my love for them.  I couldn’t stand for them to ever entertain even a fleeting thought that I wasn’t proud of them or that I wasn’t in their hearts at all times.

David, too, would need to know just how much I have treasured our marriage.  We’ve grown up together.  We’ve survived a lot in our twenty years, disliked each other and fallen in love over and over again.  The selfish part of me, of course, would expect him to enter the monastery immediately upon my death, taking a vow of celibacy and to swear never to love another.  Really, though, I would only want him to be happy.

Days would be spent with laughter and as few tears as possible, with I love you’s a part of every conversation.  My family and friends would come to the end of the year with no doubt of their places in my heart.

The time that I’ve spent this past year has seen more of this…I’ve been trying to be more open and to say the things that are in my heart.  I’ve been learning the lessons of time, learning that the word that we don’t say are the ways that we wound each other.  I’m learning that there is joy in saying the words, as much joy in hearing them.  The new year will be the perfect opportunity to tell my loved ones how much of me they are.

20121006-205634.jpg

I’m participating in #Reverb12.  Through participation in the Reverb projects, I have made some treasured friends, learned a lot about myself and gained invaluable experience as a writer and as an artist.  Reverb12 is the chance to bid farewell to 2012, and to look forward to 2013 with an open heart.

Cultivate 2012 is a new opportunity to prepare for the coming year and to create a sense of well-being.  Join us, won’t you?

