Tags

, , ,

What was your most significant expenditure in 2012?

It doesn’t have to be necessarily the biggest expenditure, just the one with the most impact.


What difference has it made to your life?

I finally paid out on something that was long overdue.  I opened myself up in ways that I’d never thought that I could.

Whether it came in the form of trying out for roller derby, submitting a design for a contest, or just sharing more of myself with friends and family, all of these things came with a price tag.  It turns out that the price was not nearly as steep as I’d imagined.

All of my life, I have kept feeling and emotions compartmentalized…locked up, hidden from view of the general public.  I’ve never been overly affectionate, or found it easy to say, “I love you.”

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve found that life is messy and fluid.  It becomes harder and harder to contain all of the bits and pieces of a line within my grasp.  Having two strong-willed teenagers has gone a long way to showing me exactly how much control I really have.

It also becomes more important to say the words that we all need to hear.  It’s only fair that I be the one to say some of those words first once in a while.

Turns out that the cost, though significant, was not nearly so high a price to pay, given the rewards.

20121006-205634.jpg

I’m participating in #Reverb12.  Through participation in the Reverb projects, I have made some treasured friends, learned a lot about myself and gained invaluable experience as a writer and as an artist.  Reverb12 is the chance to bid farewell to 2012, and to look forward to 2013 with an open heart.  Join us, won’t you?

