Tags

, , , , , , ,

How do YOU spell relief?

B-E-N-I-G-N

This will forever be my favorite word.  The past couple of weeks ave been tough.  Mammograms are never fun; but, when you have your annual done, and then get a call to come back for additional views and ultrasounds, your brain starts working overtime.  Then, when the ultrasound tech calls a doctor in to look at images while you’re still on the table, you feel like you’re in a bad Lifetime movie.  You hear the words, “There’s something there,” and “biopsy” and suddenly, you flash back two years, to when you were sitting in another doctor’s office with your cousin, hearing her cancer diagnosis for the first time.

Depending on my audience, I have been brave, blasé, anxious or downright petrified.  There is a history of breast cancer on my dad’s side of the family, but a history of harmless “stuff” on my mom’s side.  I’m relieved to say that, on the anniversary of my grandmother’s death, her side won.  Grandma was looking out for me.

I have watched Lisa fight breast cancer and suffer some unthinkable complications. I don’t know if I could do the same with the grace and determination that she brought to the fight.

Tonight, I would imagine that the radiology tech, Liz, whose job it was to call with my results, counts today as a successful day.  I’m pretty sure that if I still could, I’d consider having another baby, just so that I could name it (boy OR girl) Liz.

Just kidding, Mom.

As soon as I hung up the phone and choked back a sob or two, I yelled, “BENIGN!” so that Dave and the kids would know.  My first call was to my mother.  She was so relieved that she couldn’t speak.  I come by the whole, “worry myself sick” thing genetically.  I just kept saying, “I know.  I know.  I’m okay.”

Dave came in as soon as I hung up and just hugged me.  He’s not a worrier, but I know that this was scary for him.  The kids both said that they knew I would be fine.

One other thing that I have to say…the support, the love and the care that I have been showered with over these past weeks has been absolutely monumental.  I’ve said it before and I will say it again.  Social media has given me such a tremendous gift in the friends that I have made around the world.

What could have been a truly staggering time, instead saw my load lightened by the people who walked virtually with me.

Today, and every day, I am grateful to be able to share this good news with so many amazing people, of which, you are one.  Thank you.

I’m participating in #30daysofThanks, inspired by my friend, Amanda, over at www.memydogsmylife.com. We are finding one thing each day in November to be grateful for. Join in! Just use the tag #30daysofThanks and blog or Tweet your daily item.

image credit
