Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Bond. James Bond.

I’ve been looking forward to today for quite a long time.

Through several seasons of football, we became friends with two couples, parents of boys on Ben’s team.  When you spend three nights a week, as well as hours on game days together, you get to know each other very well.  It got to the point where we looked forward going to practice because we’d get to hang out with our friends, as much as to watch our boys.  These two women have become so close…I realize that I miss them dreadfully.

After the last season ended this past spring, the boys moved on.  Ben and one of the other boys started training almost immediately for high school ball, and the third boy took the summer off, and then moved on to a new team.

We’ve all gotten together a couple of times over the summer, but we go in so many different directions and at such a busy pace that it’s hard to carve out time for us all to get together.

Today, we met for lunch at a local Mexican restaurant.  Two hours flew by as we talked as fast as we could go.  It was great.  We had sworn prior to getting together that politics was off-limits, but it did eventually come up.  The very best part about this is that we all respect each other too much to be reduced to our political parties.  We all have very different viewpoints, but we stay respectful and listen to each other.  We don’t try to change each other’s minds.  It’s almost like we are anthropologists studying a distant, unfamiliar tribe.

Too soon, we had to break it up.  We have promised to get together more often.  We’d like to shoot for once a month.

Dave, Ben and I headed to our favorite movie theater.  We’ve been eagerly anticipating the new James Bond movie, “Skyfall.”  It didn’t disappoint.  I love going to the movies, and I’m a movie nerd.  I have seen all of the James Bond movies, but I’ll admit that Daniel Craig is my favorite Bond.  I teased Dave on the way home, telling him that Craig had moved to the top of my “list.”  Anyone who is a fan of “Friends” will get the joke.

Today, I am grateful for time spent talking and laughing with friends, good food, movies and movie popcorn, and taking a whole day to play.

I’m participating in #30daysofThanks, inspired by my friend, Amanda, over at www.memydogsmylife.com. We are finding one thing each day in November to be grateful for. Join in! Just use the tag #30daysofThanks and blog or Tweet your daily item.

