Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today, I got to do what I consider to be one of the most important jobs that a parent has…take my child to vote for the first time.

Isabel & Ben have always gone with me when voting.  Now that Isabel is eighteen, it’s her turn to connect the bars on a ballot.  Isabel was perfectly capable of getting herself to her former elementary school to cast her ballot.  I’m honored to say that she asked me to go with her, and we spent some time beforehand going through the various propositions and some of the other items on the ballot.

It’s no secret that I am EXTREMELY liberal; but, Isabel is certainly a young woman with her own opinions.  She’s not easily swayed.  I was confident that she would vote with her own mind and she did.

She was dubious going in, not really sure that getting a sticker was such a big deal.  When she put her ballot in and the election official handed her a sticker, she grinned and immediately stuck it to her hoodie.  On the way out to the car, I insisted that we take the picture above.  She might think it’s goofy, but I was almost weepy.

What a wonderful right we have, in voting.

Now, I’m sitting stretched out on our bed, switching back and forth between various news channels.  I’ve got Twitter up on my laptop and a cup of tea in my grandmother’s teacup.  I’m nervously watching the election returns.

Election Night 2012

Tonight, I am grateful for the right to vote…as a parent, as a woman, and as an American.

I’m participating in #30daysofThanks, inspired by my friend, Amanda, over at www.memydogsmylife.com. We are finding one thing each day in November to be grateful for. Join in! Just use the tag #30daysofThanks and blog or Tweet your daily item.

