Tags

, , , , ,

Happy 30th Anniversary!

Take a look at this photo.  This is what 30 years of marriage looks like, and it’s one of the most beautiful pictures that I’ve ever seen.  These are my parents.  Aren’t they gorgeous?

Today is my parents’ 30th wedding anniversary.  It’s a big deal, considering the fact that, next to my grandparents, theirs is the longest lasting marriage in our family. 

It hasn’t been easy.  They started out married life under some truly awful circumstances…divorces, a suicide, blending a family of four kids under the age of 12…each one on its own enough to sink a new marriage. 

Somehow, they managed to get through the terrible times, working hard and building a life together.

These days, my husband and I view my parents as an example of “what we’d like to be when we grow up.”  They have a gorgeous home, a psychotic (yes, Mom, PSYCHOTIC) cat, and a relationship that is “normal.”  They bicker, like any other married couple; but, they are both people who believe that once you say something, it can’t be unsaid.  In the end, they are two people who had to go through a lot of heartache to find each other.

The picture above was taken in Hawaii.  Just looking at the picture makes me smile.  I can read the absolute joy in their faces…they are in one of their favorite places, together.

Here’s to Ted & Mickie.  May you celebrate every year with the same joyful smiles, and all of the love in the world.  Thank you for being my parents.

I love you.

