Tags

, , , , ,

Day 8: Friday, March 23, 2012

  • Prompt A: What are your simplest pleasures? Go beyond description and into showing the experience of each indulgence.

Simple pleasures

These are just a few simple pleaures of mine.  There are so many more…when you start looking around, making a list, you realize how fortunate you are.

Orange blossoms 

One of my favorite scents in the world, the smell of orange trees in bloom is far less common now than it was when I was growing up in Phoenix.  The light citrus scent of the waxy white flowers used to fill the valley in the spring.  Vacant land around town was planted with orange groves so that the land could be taxed as agricultural.  Breezes filled the air and flooded through open windows, sweetening our dreams.  As urban sprawl has taken over, the groves were left to dry out and then cut down.  There are still individual orange trees in yards all around; and, as you drive along with your car windows down, you will occasionally catch the hint of what can only be described as sunshine’s perfume. 

Wandering on the beach

It doesn’t happen often enough; but, one of my favorite things is to wander up and down an empty beach.  I’m not one to sit in the sun, andn I don’t want to get into the water any deeper than my ankles.  I just enjoy the constant motion of the waves, the sound of the tide, and the salty sting of the spray.  I am at my calmest, most content, puttering up and down the beach, the wind in my hair, picking up shells and feeling the sand tugged out from under my toes.  My time at the shore is never long enough and it is always with regret that I brush the sand from my feet, climb back into the car and drive inland.

Playing hooky

I am an extremely reliable employee, and I work hard to do my job well.  Even so, everyone needs a break once in a while.  I have been known, on occasion, to make an excuse and cut out of work early.  I will do something by myself, usually something that my husband or my kids wouldn’t be interested in.  I have gone to matinee movies, spend the afternoon in a park, and bought myself an ice cream cone.  I saw the Dale Chihulihy glass exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum.  One afternoon, several years ago, a coworker and I walked to a nearby pub where we saw a band, Vertical Horizon, plan.  I don’t skip out often, and my boss actually encourages my truancy.  With temperatures right now in the “near perfect” range, I can feel the tug of another “mental health” day coming up.

New art supplies

Hello, my name is Brandee.  It’s been two hours since my last art supply purchase.

Oh, how I love pretty notebooks, rainbows of colored pencils, and jumbo boxes of crayons.  The potential for new drawings or new blog posts lures me again and again to the nearest Michael’s, the art supply section of Office Max, even the drawing shelves of Barnes and Noble.  I would like to take a painting class; but, I’m not sure that my wallet could handle it.  I’m gradually getting over the hang up of spoiling pages with mistakes, and I’m starting to view them as parts of works in progress. 

Kissing

Kissing is a very serious business, and it’s not something you can do with just anyone.  I truly believe that the person that you spend your life with has to be your kissing match.  The best kiss has the perfect firmness of the lips, a brush of the tongue, the whisper of a breath…not too hard, not too wet.  Done right, a kiss is something you feel in your stomach, your knees, all the way down to your toes.  A good kiss is one that you get lost in.  You emerge, slightly out of breath, with stars in your eyes.  Twenty years ago, I found my perfect match, and I’m happy to say that my husband still leaves me breathless.

I am participating in The Scintilla Project. 

scintilla

1692, from fig. use of L. scintilla “particle of fire, spark, glittering speck, atom,” probably from PIE *ski-nto-, from base *skai- “to shine, to gleam” (cf. Goth. skeinan, O.E. scinan “to shine”).

For two weeks in March, the Scintilla community will be sharing stories and experiences sparked by prompts sent out each day.  Join us, won’t you?
