Tags

, , , , ,

 Day 7: Thursday, March 22, 2012

  • Prompt A: List the tribes you belong to: cultural, personal,  literary, you get the drift. Talk about the experience of being in your  element with your tribes.

 Everyday Amazon

Amazon by B. Baltzell

I am of the Amazons.

Though the lineage may not bear the direct bloodline, the women of my family carry the strength, the force of personality and a particular brand of crazy that would indicate a warrior tribe.

Viewed from outside, our family is seen as decidedly matriarchal, thanks to my grandmother.  She was a force to be reckoned with.  With her red hair, glamorous ways and fiery temper, people learned quickly to go along with her or get out her way.

Her mother was an Austrian immigrant.  She forged a life in the Mid-West during the Great Depression, raising children and running a small cafe with a beginner’s grasp of the English language.

My mother and her three sisters embody all the sides of a beautiful, multi-faceted stone.  It’s from them that the four girls of my generation learned the rallying cry in times of trouble.  The call to arms when one our own needs help is the clarion call of the battle-ready.

My daughter stands ready to take up the sword.  She has inherited the protective nature and fierce courage to charge out into the world and defend herself and those unable to speak for themselves.

This is not to say that the men of our family are emasculated; it’s just that our women are a strong-willed lot.  The men must be comfortable with this, as they have married beautiful, powerful women and brought them into the fold.

My tribe is passionate, excitable, opinionated and brave.  Their gifts sustain me and compel me to go forth into the world, secure in the knowledge that they will always have my back and I will always have theirs.

I am participating in The Scintilla Project. 

scintilla

1692, from fig. use of L. scintilla “particle of fire, spark, glittering speck, atom,” probably from PIE *ski-nto-, from base *skai- “to shine, to gleam” (cf. Goth. skeinan, O.E. scinan “to shine”).

For two weeks in March, the Scintilla community will be sharing stories and experiences sparked by prompts sent out each day.  Join us, won’t you?
