Tags

, , , , ,

Tonight, we had grilled cheese and tomato soup for dinner.  Simple, basic…one of those “back-up” meals that you’re supposed to save for a weeknight, when you’re rushing in from work and can’t think of a thing to make.  It’s a meal that is one that everyone will eat.

Sundays are traditionally a day we save for our “big” meal – something made from scratch, a new experiment, or something that cooks low & slow all day.  For whatever reason, we just didn’t get organized enough to make it happen today, and when dinnertime rolled around, we weren’t sure what we were going to do.

Though I love comfort food, the thing that I am most thankful for today isn’t the warm, gooey cheesy sandwich and creamy soup.  I had been talking to my mother, and didn’t realize that I had been on the phone for quite a while until I heard the rattle of pans in the kitchen.  When I finished my call, I headed out to the kitchen to investigate.  Dave was in full assembly mode, with sandwiches in various stages of melting and the soup beginning to bubble.

I’m thankful for my husband.  In all of our nineteen plus years of marriage, he has never once hesitated to step in to make a meal or to do something around the house.  Because we’ve both always worked full-time, we realized early on that it would take teamwork to keep this little family running.

I am fortunate to be married to a man who has never been hung up on stereotypical gender roles.  I can’t imagine being married to some schlub who sat around waiting for me to get home after a long day, expecting me to make dinner.  That just wouldn’t work.

So, as we sat around the table with our un-fancy Sunday dinner, I smiled at Dave across the table.  There will be other nights for big dinners…this night was about having everyone together.

I’m participating in #30daysofThanks, inspired by my friend, Amanda, over at www.memydogsmylife.com.  We are finding one thing each day in November to be grateful for.  Join in!  Just use the tag #30daysofThanks and blog or Tweet your daily item.

(image credit)

