Tags

, , ,

Now that Isabel has an after-school job, she works a couple of nights a week.  Our family is at the stage where we are all going different directions so many nights.  She’s getting older, and will soon be going to college.  Like every teenager, she’s pulling away, turning into her own young woman.  Time together is becoming more rare.

Each night, when she gets home from work, she comes into my room, and we sit on my bed and talk about her shift.  This typically transitions into talk about school, what’s going on with her friends, and life in general.

A couple of weeks ago, one of Isabel’s friends lost her mother suddenly.  Since then, it’s become even more important for me to keep the connection with my daughter strong.  We’ve gone through all of the normal mother/daughter angst; but, I am so very fortunate.  Isabel is a very good kid.  She’s blossoming (boy, I hate that word) into a beautiful, smart, funny young woman.

Tonight, I’m thankful for the new relationship that we’re forging together.

I’m participating in #30daysofThanks, inspired by my friend, Amanda, over at www.memydogsmylife.com.  We are finding one thing each day in November to be grateful for.  Join in!  Just use the tag #30daysofThanks and blog or Tweet your daily item.

(image credit)

