Tags

, ,

August Break – August 2nd

This photo shows my new helmet and pads.  Over on my other blog, Derby Dreams, I am documenting my journey to get into shape and prepare for try-outs with a roller derby league.

Today, I bought a helmet and pads so that I can start working out on skates, as well as the time that I’m putting in at the gym.  I wanted to find a helmet that is for skating.  I didn’t want anything pink or girly, and I didn’t want a bike helmet.  My kids immediately made plans to cover it with stickers; but, for now, I want basic black.  I want to look like a badass, even if I skate like a jackass.

I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s August Break project:

The plan is: you simply share  one photo  (or more!) per day on your blog – Monday to Friday, or every  day .Or whenever you feel moved to share. Using any camera – DSLR, compact,  Polaroid,  Holga, iPhone (my  choice), Instax, film or digital – with or  without words –  anything goes! – for the whole of August.  No pressure  – just looking at August through  your camera lens as a  way to be more  present this summer. And to have a  little break from  the pressures and  expectations of regular (wordy) blogging.

There are NO RULES, people! Just sunshine (hopefully) and a bit of fun. And lots of lovely photos to look at.

If you’d like to join, follow this link:  http://www.susannahconway.com/page/2/

