Tags

, , ,

Crankypants

That’s what I have been, all day, for no good reason.  I don’t have any good excuses.  It’s Friday, work hasn’t been especially stressful, we have fun plans this weekend.  All is right in my world, and yet, I could gladly smack the next person that walked into my office.

It’s almost as if I’m waiting for something to happen, and it’s got me on edge.  I don’t know what that thing is.  I don’t know if it’s something good or bad.  There’s just this feeling of …something coming.

I would never profess to be psychic, or to be able to read things ahead of time; but, today, my Spidey sense is tingling something fierce.

It might be anxiety over a short day trip that we’re taking tomorrow.  One of my co-workers has a cabin about three hours north of here.  She’s invited the gang from the office up for the day, and we’re taking off after Ben’s football camp.

I don’t like road trips, as a rule.  Being cooped up in a car is maddening to me, especially if I’m not the one driving.  Any time that we are to take off in the car for a trip out of town, I get uptight.  I’m pretty sure that it comes down to a control issue.  I suppose that at some point, I will need to figure out that most of my life is not something that I can control beyond the basics.

It should be a nice day.  It’s much cooler up there, and they are due for some rain.  I like the people that I work with, so there’s no stress there.  I just get focused on the actual ride and it makes me anxious.  It could also be that there are a lot of accidents on the particular stretch of road that we have to travel. 

Whatever it is, I’m going to have a glass of wine with dinner tonight, and then get up early tomorrow morning and meet up with my new trainer at the gym.  A good night’s sleep and a tough workout tomorrow might be just the things to get my attention shifted off of the drive.

Be careful out there.  I don’t want anything to happen to any of my friends, either!

