Tags

, , ,

Refuse to Be Labeled  Trust 30 – June 10Andy Warhol's Campbell's Soup 1 1968

Imitation is Suicide. Insist on yourself; never imitate. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Write down in which areas of your life you have to overcome these suicidal tendencies of imitation, and how you can transform them into a newborn you – one that doesn’t hide its uniqueness, but thrives on it. There is a “divine idea which each of us represents” – which is yours?

(Author: Fabian Kruse)

Art begins in imitation and ends in innovation.                                                  Mason Cooley

There is a fine line between imitation and inspiration.  Each of us that makes an attempt to harness creative energy hopes that our efforts will be recognized as original and one of a kind.

But, isn’t it the case that each of us is influenced in a particular direction or style long before pen meets paper or paint touches canvas?  We are drawn to certain artists and their work because it resonates with something within us.  We, in turn, take that influence and somehow change it, bend it, shape it into our own version.

We spend our whole lives battling against two very different philosophies.  The advertising industry counts on this and exploits it.  Should you “Be Like Mike,” or  “Be a Pepper”?  Or, should you “Be All That You Can Be”?

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery; and yet, I don’t want to be part of the flock.  I don’t want to be pigeon-holed, qualified or quantified by any label.  I may be your stereotypical suburban, chubby blond, football mom; but, I refuse to let that define me.  You can’t tell what’s in my head or in my heart by looking at me or my life.  I’d like to think that though there are many things about me that may appear cookie cutter, they are not the pieces that matter. 

What I think, what I feel, how I treat my fellow man, and the things that I create…those things are me, and not one of those pieces is like anyone else.  Whether I eventually achieve some measure of creations of my own remains to be seen.  I can only keep working away, observe the world around me and strive for innovation.

(image credit – Andy Warhol – Campbell’s Soup I 1968)

