Tags

, , , ,

Stand Up  Trust 30 – June 9th

To believe your own thought, to believe that what is true for you in your private heart is true for all men, that is genius. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What is burning deep inside of you? If you could spread your personal message RIGHT NOW to 1 million people, what would you say?

(Author: Eric Handler)

Stand up.

Refuse to be a doormat.  No one has the right to walk on you, to take advantage of you or to bully you.

Stand up for those that can’t defend themselves.  Champion those that would be trampled.

Often, bullies don’t even act intentionally or consciously; but, they still take advantage of others.  Our silence is tacit approval.  Refuse to reward bad behavior.

I cannot to stand idly by as another is mistreated due to age, gender, color, sexual orientation or through inattention.

Standing up doesn’t have to mean that you have to get ugly or enter into a fight.  Standing up can be as simple as calling attention to the undesirable behavior.  Confrontation is never easy; but, I’ve never met a mind reader, and nobody is going to know if something bothers you unless you speak up.

I constantly find myself in situations where someone needs to speak up.  Often, I am the only one that will do it.  This means that I have an over-developed sense of righteousness.  Quite frankly, once I build up a full head of steam over some perceived injustice, you’d half expect me to charge around in a cape, my fists balled up on my hips and my chest puffed out.  Am I the most moral person out there?  Of course not; but, my compass, with regards to bullies stays pretty true.

Too many times, people allow themselves to be mistreated, or are unable to defend themselves.  We’ve all seen those “Dateline” or “20/20” specials that pose the question, “What would you do?”  What WOULD you do, if faced with someone intentionally taking advantage of another because they couldn’t help themselves?

Be the righter of wrongs.  Be the champion of good and fairness.  It’s easier than you think, and maybe that good deed will pay it forward for others.

