Tags

, ,

Make Yourself Irreplaceable – Trust 30 – June 7


There will be an agreement in whatever variety of actions, so they be each honest and natural in their hour. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

What would you say to the person you were five years ago? What will you say to the person you’ll be in five years?

(Author: Corbett Barr)

My initial thought, when I read this post was, “You are ultimately replaceable.”

I was thinking about where I was five years ago.  I was wrapped up in a job that I would eventually leave.  At the time, I was in a management position, juggling a very large book of business, clients, employees, hr for the office and payroll.  My identity was tied to my work.  Our kids were younger, and in some ways, easier.  Dave was happy in a new job, and I could throw myself into work and let the rest of myself slide.

To that self, I would say that you can always be replaced.  That treadmill, that rat race…it’s not worth the time that you lose with family or with friends.  They will always find some other sucker to do that ridiculous job.

In these past five years, I have moved on to a new, less demanding position, with a much smaller company.  I had been doing it for so long that I didn’t know that life could be different.  I have lost my dear grandmother, and I have lost friends.  In those five years, I have become more involved in my children’s lives (much to their chagrin) and I have made some incredible new friends.  I have seen those that I love face tremendous obstacles and I hope that I have been a source of comfort and support to them.

I have discovered a new creativity and a desire to learn more about the world around me.  To that me of five years ago, I would say, perhaps you’re not so replaceable, after all…IF you are willing to lift your head up and look around.  Make yourself irreplaceable.

To the me five years from now, I would simply ask a question.

“Have you lived the best that you can?”

