Tags

, , , , , ,

Turning “To Do” into “Ta-Da!”  – Trust 30 – June 6th

Our arts, our occupations, our marriages, our religion, we have not chosen, but society has chosen for us. We are parlour soldiers. We shun the rugged battle of fate, where strength is born. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Next to Resistance, rational thought is the artist or entrepreneurs worst enemy. Bad things happen when we employ rational thought, because rational thought comes from the ego. Instead, we want to work from the Self, that is, from instinct and intuition, from the unconscious.

A child has no trouble believing the unbelievable, nor does the genius or the madman. It’s only you and I, with our big brains and our tiny hearts, who doubt and overthink and hesitate.” – Steven Pressfield, Do the Work

The idea of “being realistic” holds all of us back. From starting a business or quitting a job to dating someone who may not be our type or moving to a new place – getting “real” often means putting your dreams on hold.

Today, let’s take a step away from rational thought and dare to be bold. What’s one thing you’ve always wanted to accomplish but have been afraid to pursue? Write it down. Also write down the obstacles in your way of reaching your goal. Finally, write down a tangible plan to overcome each obstacle.

The only thing left is to, you know, actually go make it happen. What are you waiting for?

(Author: Matt Cheuvront)

Three out of the last four prompts all dovetailed into one for me.  They have focused on my goals, what is keeping me from accomplishing those goals and how I can overcome those obstacles.

Unlike many of my friends, and unlike my husband, I’m not working on the next great American novel.  I m not waiting to paint my next masterpiece.  I am in awe of those that have fostered the seed of an idea and that continue to water it, feed it, and bring it out into the light to let it grow.

For now, I don’t have any seeds of my own.  No magic beans.  No ideas.

I do have a secret little wish, though.

I would love to write and illustrate a series of children’s books.

I have always loved children’s books.  I can spend hours in the kids’ sections of bookstores, looking at the pictures, as well as the stories themselves.

I have sketch pads full of scribbles, where I have tried to imitate certain styles of drawing.  All I need is an actual character.  I’ve toyed with using my kids.  When they were little, and my parents lived in another city, I would draw cartoon strips of the funny things the kids would say or do, and send them to my mother.

Before I ever met Dave and got married, I drew a picture of a brother and sister picking up seashells on the beach.  Little did I dream that I would eventually have a boy and a girl who looked similar to the children in the picture.  My grandmother framed the drawing and it hung in her entry foyer for years, until she was moved to a nursing home.  It now hangs in a hallway in my home. 

So…what do I need to do to make this dream a reality?  How do I get this off of my To Do list?

I keep writing.  I keep drawing.  I keep reading.  At some point, these things will blossom into something that will satisfy my soul and bring that dream to fruition.

(poor quality image of an original drawing by Brandee Tateosian Baltzell)

