Tags

, , ,

Maybe…

I don’t have a good memory; or, perhaps I have a short attention span.  Either way, I am constantly writing on Post-It notes, pads of paper, the backs of receipts, etc.  I have several revolving to-do lists going at once.  I set reminders in Outlook and on my phone.  I’m one step above tying strings around my fingers…except that I’d forget what they were for.

This morning, I was rummaging through my desk drawer, and came across a Post-It with seven names written on it.  For the life of me, I can’t remember why I wrote them down.  I don’t recognize the names as part of a group, though I’m sure they must be.  I don’t remember writing tem down, but there must have been a reason for it.

Was I supposed to contact them?  Are we missing information on them for applications?  This does not bode well.

Memory is something that is selective for me, apparently.  I have a weird savant-like recall for movies and television trivia; but, ask me when a specific group of mine renews or what I wore to work yesterday and I draw a blank.  If it weren’t for my son, I wouldn’t remember where I sat, the music playing or how many drink refills he had at a dinner three years ago.  I say, “Stop me if I’ve told you this” a lot!

Though things like Alzheimer’s and vascular dementia are nothing to joke about, I wonder if maybe just not knowing that I’ve forgotten something would be a relief.

