Tags

, ,

March 5, 2011

Relief

I am pleased and relieved to report that, after two days MIA, my parents’ cat calmly strolled into their house this morning, tired, hungry, but essentially none the worse for wear.

Relief is the strongest emotion I feel this morning, followed quickly by complete disgust.  The housesitter that my parents brought in specifically to watch the cat has been beside herself.  We spent hours yesterday, combing the neighborhood.  She printed up flyers and posted them for blocks around the house.

There are so many pitfalls for pets in that area that we were just sure that the cat had been eaten by a coyote, bitten by a snake or hit by a car…to have him saunter back into the house like he’d had a hard night of partying is almost too incredible to believe.

The relief comes from knowing that I don’t have to break the news to my mother.  It’s only been a couple of months  since my grandmother, her mom, died; and my mom is still grieving.  To lose the cat that only she could love wold be a huge blow.

I love cats.  It’s only now, after losing our two cats after 18 years, are we without a cat in our own house right now; but, my mothers cat is a complete enigma to me.  He doesn’t like me and I don’t like him.  The fact that my mother put me down as the person to contact in case of anything happening to the cat is incredibly ironic.

As they say, “All’s well that ends well.”  But, my mother does owe me, for the hours I worried over that dumb cat, and a new suitcase to replace the one that cat peed on the last time I housesat for them!

Stupid cat.

