Tags

, , , ,

february 22, 2011

Today’s topic is a silly one…

How long could you go without a shower?

Hmm…maybe twelve hours?  Yeah, I’m a two shower a day kind of girl; so, you can imagine that I’m not much of a camper.  Now, this doesn’t mean that I need to shower more than the average person.   I just prefer showers to baths and they’re more relaxing to me.

I did go camping, once. 

I was in college, and a group of us borrowed camping gear from the school.  There were maybe eight of us, and we took off for southeastern Utah.  It was springtime in the four corners area, and when we left campus, the sky was overcast.  It was cold, and promising snow.  We were packed for much colder weather.  When we got to the Canyonlands, the skies were blue, the air was clear and the sun was blistering!

After several hours of hiking, joking around (not me) and whining (me,) we found a suitable spot.  The boys had all packed in alcohol.  The other gal & I brought in ramen and a can of corn.  Oh, and alcohol.

We drank for a good portion of the night, after having sweated our way through the day.  Waking up the next day, smelly, hung over and facing several hours to hike out, I was not pleased.

That was the first and last time I have ever been camping.

Does this make me a wuss?  Probably.  Do I care?  Nope.

My idea of camping is a four star hotel, room service and long, hot, steamy showers.   Lots of them.

