Tags

, , , ,

January 20, 2011

Pain, proposals and props…

In one of my daughter’s less angsty moments today, she asked me how my day was.  I had been busier than usual, and hadn’t really given any thought to assigning a tone to my day.  When I finally sat down to write tonight, I thought back over the day, and came up with “A mixed bag.”  There were some definite highlights and some real low spots.

My friend got the results for her MRI today.  She called me to tell me that she is going to have to undergo a full mastectomy, rather than the lumpectomy that we were hoping for.  The amazing thing is that she was making jokes, and talking about the reconstruction that the doctor mentioned doing within the same surgery.  She said that she’d had some weepy moments right after her call from the doctor, but that she was doing okay by the time that she called me.  I am moved to tears by the grace of this woman.

Later in the afternoon, my cousin Amy emailed me to say that the guy that she’s been with for several years finally OFFICIALLY proposed, like for real real real!  (Her formatting.)  Amy & I lived together right after college, during our first jobs.  She’s the little sister I never had.  She’s taken some hard knocks through the years, and to know that she’s so happy pleases me to no end.  Our cousin, Ruth, did email back with her congratulations, but said that she is too damned old to be a bridesmaid, and now that our grandmother is gone, there’s no one to make her do it!

Finally, when I logged in to my blog, there was an extremely kind note from Shannon.  Shannon, of Thumbin’ My Way, is one of the many folks that I have “met” through the reverb10 project.  She was including me in a list of blogs that she enjoyed, and that she was adding me to her blogroll.  It was an award, of sorts, called “The Stylish Blogger.”  Through this project, I have been introduced to some incredible writers, and I am honored to be included.  Two months ago, I never would have imagined setting up a blog, or posting something every day.  It runs against my nature and my better judgement.  Maybe all the horoscope changing hoopla resulted in a change in personality.  Maybe I really am a bloggy, sharing, tweeting little joiner after all.  I am very flattered to find that people are reading my blog, and that I have the opportunity to try to become a better writer.

So, thank you Shannon, for adding me to your list.  It’s a pleasure to be in the same company as other folks that you’ve named, and with you!  What an incredible collection of writers…smart, funny, poetic, thoughtful and encouraging, right to the core.

In turn, there are others that you may enjoy as much as I do:

In addition, there are others that I eagerly anticipate reading each day…they are mentioned here, but they have also received the Stylish Blogger award other places.  Click on my blogroll to catch up with them.  You will NOT be disappointed. 

  • Uncletypewriter
  • Little Yawps
  • Geekin’ Hard
  • Radio Nowhere
  • Learning the Language of Brooke Farmer
  • Living a Quotable Life

These are writers that inspire me every day.  They offer support and encourage me every day.

As part of the acceptance of this award, I am to offer 7 things about myself.  So, without turning into too much of a naval gazer, let’s see…

  1. I am distantly related to Monet, on my maternal grandfather’s side.
  2. When I was five years old, I took ice skating lessons.  To this day, Zambonis terrify me.
  3. My favorite movie is “Amelie.”  I could watch it every day.  I often turn it on while I’m getting ready for work in the morning, and watch bits of it.
  4. Salt or chocolate?  Thank you M&M’s for solving that crushing dilemma with Pretzel M&M’s!
  5. I have a mean sense of humor that breaks out in little cartoons, usually depicting the untimely demise of someone who has annoyed me.
  6. I have hazel eyes that are bright green when I cry.
  7. I taught myself to juggle one summer, while staying with my grandparents.  My grandfather was a ringmaster, so I think we were secretly hoping to run away with the circus.

Thanks for stopping by.   Know that I appreciate the company and you are always welcome!

