Tags

, ,

by admin on 12/30/2010 in Prompts

December 31 – Core Story

What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world? (Bonus: Consider your reflections from this month. Look through them to discover a thread you may not have noticed until today.)

(Author: Molly O’Neill)

I must be about six years old.  The very first thing that came to mind when I read this prompt was the Donald Duck cartoon in which he’s an apple farmer, trying to save his crop from those pesky little chipmunks.

Chip:  “Apple Core”

Donald:  “Nothing more!”

Dale:  “Who’s your friend?”

Donald:  “Me!”

And they’d squish an apple core in his face.

So, I started the prompt giggling.  I loved those dumb little rodents.

But, to get to the “core” of the prompt, I looked back through the posts that I’ve put together for the reverb10 project.  This blog has become the most blatant attempt to unleash myself on the world yet.  So far, so good.

I’ve always felt like I lived up to the notion that a Gemini is really two people.  What I present to the world is much less, in many ways, than what I am on the inside.   People tell me that I can be perceived as aloof, guarded, closed off.  Inside, I’m a roiling storm of nerves, emotions and drama.  I can’t believe that people aren’t getting their doors blown off by what seems to be emanating from my every pore.  For that, maybe I should be grateful.  Or you should.

I look around me, and I see so many people who I would emulate.  The thoughtfulness of my mother, the cutting sarcasm of my cousins, the joie de vivre of my friends are all things that I wish I possessed more of.  Sorting through the reverb10 prompts, I realized that we’re all pretty similar on the inside.  What I’m learning, gradually, is that most people aren’t really spending any time judging me, or the things that I do.  They are completely wrapped up in their own bundles of weird, and too intent on that to give a rip what I’m doing.

My goal (and I refuse to call it a resolution) in 2011, is to continue to exhume me.  To let myself of the chain a bit more.  To be the crown, to wear the crown, I am the crown.

So.  Here we are, where the sidewalk ends…

Live.  A lot.  Unleash yourself on the world and go!

(Apologies to Walt Disney, Miss Congeniality, and Shel Silverstein.)

