Tags

,

 

It snowed today in Phoenix.  It’s only done that a handful of times since I’ve moved here.  I knew that it would be chilly today; but, the difference between the 110’s and the low 40’s means that this desert rat worries that I don’t have a decent winter coat anymore.

I ran out for lunch, and as I got out of my car, a mother with her two little kids were standing on the sidewalk, looking up at the whirling flakes.  The little boy had his tongue out, trying to catch one.

From inside the sandwich shop, several of the employees and customers came spilling out, all of them staring wide-eyed at the quickly melting snow.  They kept saying, “It’s snowing!” to each other, the grins on their faces giving evidence to their disbelief.

When I stepped inside the shop, those that had been outside with me were trying to convince those that were behind the counter that it was, in fact, snowing.  “No, really!”

They asked me to bear witness.  “Yep!  It really is snowing.”

I quickly paid for my lunch, and hurried back outside, to enjoy the fleeting little snow shower.

