Tags

, ,

December 24 – Everything’s OK

by admin on 12/23/2010 in Prompts

December 24 Prompt – Everything’s OK

What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

(Author: Kate Inglis)

It’s Christmas Eve.  I’m sitting in the glow of my laptop, watching “It’s a Wonderful Life,” waiting for my son to show even the slightest signs of tiring.  I still have ALL of the presents to wrap.  Normally, my husband would be up, and we would get the kids to bed, pour a glass of wine, turn on “A Christmas Story” and wrap presents together until the early hours.

This year, Dave’s still sick.  Isabel never makes it past about 8:00, and I’m really not feeling too Christmas-y.

Working on this prompt will keep me occupied until I can, in good conscience, send Ben to bed.

There was a moment in the past year when I felt like the decisions that I’d made with my career were the right ones.

As I’ve said before, I worked for a large, national insurance brokerage.  We’ll call them the Evil Empire, or E2.

With E2, we spent a lot of time building relationships with representatives of various insurance companies.  At the time that my boss, MG, & I left, we’d been working with many of those reps for ten years.

About two months ago, we got word that the E2 execs had contacted several of the insurance companies and asked to have new reps assigned.  Apparently, the fact that MG & I still had such a good reputation in the industry was very threatening to them, and they were worried that the reps would tip us off on business  opportunities.

HA!  We’re a two woman shop.  We work as consultants for several other small agencies around town.

To know that those E2 bastards are feeling the heat from us is worth all of the sleepless nights when they were trying to sue us, and setting the lawyers on us.

We’re not getting rich.  Right now, we’re thrilled to say that we’re breaking even after a year on our own.  In this industry, that’s pretty damned good.

E2 has lost several cases over the past year…some of them to us, but many because of their own incompetence.  We’re working to build a solid foundation built on respect & customer service for our clients.  I’m sorry to say that is a forgotten set of ideas up at the old Empire.

When we found out that our reps had been reassigned, we knew we had E2 on their heels.  At that moment, we let out a crow of delight, and a huge sigh of relief.  From here, we can only get better!

