Tags

, , ,

December 22 – Travel

by admin on 12/21/2010 in Prompts

December 22 – Travel

How did you travel in 2010? How and/or where would you like to travel next year?

(Author: Tara Hunt)

We started out with spots close to home…the Grand Canyon, a quick trip to San Diego, the Four Corners, Durango.  We saw the college dorms where I lived, and looked off the side of the mesa toward the Sangre de Cristo mountains.

Then we started going further afield.  We visited the house in Denver, where I grew up.  The trees in the front yard have gotten really big, and look…they still have the gooseberry bush in the back year.  See that street behind ours?  We’d sled down that in the winter. 

On to Red Rocks, where I saw Sting for the first time.

From there, we started working our way across the country.  We visited Mt. Rushmore, and we looked at the Willis Tower, Wrigley Field.  We went to Niagara Falls.

We made a point to visit Times Square, the Empire State Building and the Statue of Liberty.  The World Trade Center.

From there, we flew over to London.  There was so much to see, including Buckingham Palace, and the Tower of London; but, I was really wanted to get to Paris. 

Most of our time was spent in Paris.  I wanted to try to follow in my grandmother’s footsteps.  I found the little hostel she & my grandfather had stayed in on the Ile de Cite.  Climbed the steps in Montmartre, and strolled the Champs Elysee.  We examined the Eiffel Tower from every angle, trying to figure out where my grandmother had scratched her initials…Grandma the Tagger.

We continued on to Rome.  The Coliseum, Vatican City…any place we could think of, we’d visit.

After the Acropolis, we decided we’d go east…I wanted to see the Taj Majal.  Ben wanted to stand on the Great Wall of China.  I’d told him about my best friend from high school and her trip to China.  She & the choir had strolled along the Great Wall, singing.

We found the little Aussie town where my cousin had moved, after marrying a guy she’d met over the internet.  The fact that she’s so close to the ocean made us jealous.

We spent some time in Hawaii, and Ben got it in his head to go to Fiji. 

On our way back home, we stopped in Disneyland, and tried to see how many characters we could find.

Back on our street, we found that our garbage can was still out, and that the neighbors really do have three cars parked along the side of their house.

It had been a long trip, but Ben & I could have spent hours more, seeing places we’d only heard about and revisiting those spots that were favorites.

Google Earth is an amazing tool.  It’s a wonderful way to spend time with my son.  We can get lost for hours, picking different places to “go.” 

Oh, sure, we took a trip to San Diego over the summer.  We had a great time, and I love spending time by the ocean.

But the time spent “travelling” with my son, the hours together as we explored places we’d only heard about were better than any actual trip I could take.

 

