Tags

,

December 20 – Beyond Avoidance

What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

(Author: Jake Nickell)

Well.  I’m stumped.

I can’t think of a thing.  I don’t think that I’ve been avoiding anything this year.

The way I see it, there are a lot of things that I DIDN’T avoid this year.  I get gold stars for putting myself out there with work, family & myself.

As I’ve talked about a lot in my reverb posts, I took a big leap of faith career-wise at the end of 2009.  I’ve spent the majority of 2010 settling in and refocusing my energies toward making a small business a success.  My part in the venture is much bigger than I’m used to, and I am excited about the possibilities.

I am spending more time with my family.  This is a direct result of my career change, and I’m thrilled.  Now that my kids think that I’m the biggest idiot on the planet, next to their father, it’s more important than ever that I am a constant presence.  To be able to embarrass and plague them is a joy & a privilege and one of the best benefits of being the parent of teenagers.  They will thank me for it later, and will in turn do the same to their kids.  Of this, I am positive.

I’ve become an unabashed football mom.  Rather than making my husband go to every football practice, I’ve been going.  Not only is it good for our kids to have us there, but I’ve made some great new friends.  We’re fortunate to have some cool moms on the team.

We’ve been spending more time with extended family.  From our Friday night dinner & Rock Band dates with our cousins, to hanging with my folks, it’s good to be surrounded by those we love.

Plus, it keeps us out of the bars.

I stood up to a bully.  I was able to say that when in a situation where one person was intentionally hurting someone else, I stepped in and put a stop to it. 

We joined a gym, and have been going regularly.  This falls under the “avoiding my body’s reality.”  I’m getting healthier, and I feel better about myself.

Finally, I started this blog.  While it’s been completely driven by reverb10 posts so far, I fully intend to keep it up.  I’m hoping that I’ll continue to stretch & explore my voice.  I don’t necessarily have any great wisdom to impart, but it’s pretty cathartic, and I’ve made so many great new connections.

There’s a lot that I didn’t do this year, but I don’t feel that they were things that I was avoiding or that would never happen. 

All in good time.

