Tags

, ,

December 18 – Try

by admin on 12/17/2010 in Prompts

December 18 – Try

What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it?

(Author: Kaileen Elise)

 “Do or do not…there is no try.” – Yoda

Yeah, cram it, Yoda.

Where my Star Wars nerds at?  This was the first thing that ran through my head when I read the prompt last night.  Reading other reverberations throughout the day, I found that I’m not the only one.

I thought a lot about this today.  I don’t put a whole lot of conscious thought into what I want to try.  I’m a fairly seat of the pants kind of girl.  There’s a pretty set routine to my days, but I don’t necessarily plan them.  If something comes up that looks like fun, hey…I’m in.

To me, TRY is a way to manage expectations. 

“Do you think that you can get the insurance company to make an exception?”  Well, I don’t know.  I can certainly try…but, no promises.

“Do you think that we can go back east to see the family this summer?”  Maybe.  We’ll try.

“Did you  clean your room?”  I tried.

Looked at like that, try is a cop-out.  An excuse.  I’ll try, but don’t be surprised if it doesn’t work out.  It probably won’t.  Sorry. 

Just do it.  (Apologies to Nike)

I’d rather live spontaneously. 

The best vacation that we ever took, we had some basic arrangements made, and the rest of the time, we did as we pleased.  No stress, no hurry.  Just Dave, the kids & I, exploring, wandering, enjoying.

 Oh, sure.  Things might not work out every time; but, if you just wing it, you haven’t created any sort of build up.  There are more opportunities to be pleasantly surprised.

So, next year, I’m going to DO.  Thanks, Yoda.

