December 10 – Wisdom

by admin on 12/09/2010 in Prompts

December 10 – Wisdom

Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

(Author: Susannah Conway)

Jesus.  I have been putzing around this post all day, and I still have no idea where this is going.  

I finally threw out the last of the Thanksgiving leftovers two days ago.  How about that?

Hmmm…I didn’t renew my subscription to Rachael Ray’s magazine.  Does that grab you?

This is ridiculous.  I’m sitting here, thinking about how I committed to this project.  I’m annoyed because I want to get something down, so that I can eagerly await the next round of soul baiting.  I am sure that there were decisions that I made over the past year that turned out pretty good, but nothing pops up to make me swipe my hand across my brow & utter a momentous, “PHEW!”

All I can think is, “Good grief.  I made it through a whole year without one decent, wise decision?”

Does switching brands of toilet paper so that our sewer line quits clogging count?

I would love to be able to point to something specific and say, “Ta DAAAA!”  Then I could finish this damned post, mentally pat myself on the back and go back to watching movies that are clogging up my dvr.

I don’t suppose that recording and erasing before watching “The Hangover” again counts.

See, I’ve spent this year dealing with the sea changes caused by the really big decisions that I made in the last quarter of 2009.  I did it BIG and it’s finally starting to settle down again.  I haven’t really been up for popping off with another round this year.

I quit my job of ten years in rather spectacular fashion.  Walked out with no notice, and nothing in my hands but my purse.  My husband was out of town at the time, with his family.  His grandfather was dying, so this was not the best time for a distraction.  When I called Dave to say, “I think that I’ve just quit my job.” I’m grateful that he just said, “Well.  Ok.  We’ll deal with it.”

I was fortunate to have excellent resources, and the woman that had been my boss during this whole time had started her own company.  She wasn’t anywhere close to being able to afford me, but she set me up to work with her & with another agency.  I started the next day.

Because of the way that I’d quit, and because the industry that I am in is comprised of more gossips than TMZ, I had to lay low for a while.  That was extremely humbling.  I spent several months doing my damndest to make sure that none of the folks that hired me, or I, regretted the decision to start fresh.

I’m happy to say that my blood pressure is much lower, I go home at a reasonable hour & I get to spend more time with my family.

The other big decision was pretty personal…I had a full hysterectomy at age 41.  In addition solving some issues with “the works,” my doctor said that it could potentially get rid of the monthly migraines that I’d been getting once a month, EVERY month, since I was twelve.  Can you believe that one quack doctor actually told me that he didn’t believe in migraines?  WHAT?  Dude.  I do not have the attention span to fake a headache once a month, every month for three days at a time.  We knew that the headaches were directly related to my hormones, and a partial hysterectomy would not help.  When she told me that, my only reaction was, “YANK ‘EM!” 

Since my surgery, just over a year ago, I have not had one migraine.  Oh, sure, I get the occasional headache; but, until you have had a headache so bad that you can’t say your name, or until you take enough aspirin to make your ears ring, you have no idea how debilitating migraines can be.

I’m also a much nicer person to be around…but, that could also be that I’m not dealing with personnel issues all day at a job that was making me crazy.

I guess I could say that starting this blog was a wise decision, but that REALLY remains to be seen.  I’m only about a week into it, and there’s a LOT I don’t know about taking this online.  I can’t imagine getting actual comments back.  I’m still geeked out when someone I follow on Twitter responds to something I’ve sent to them.

Well, there you go.  I finished it, and even found something that fit with this self-congratulatory prompt. 

And I only have to wait about forty minutes before I have to start slogging through the next round of emotional roulette.

