Tags

, , , ,

In the month of December, I’m participating in #reverb10.  Each day, we receive a prompt and respond accordingly.

December 8 – Beautifully Different

by admin on 12/07/2010 in Prompts

December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

Throughout our lives, we are presented with example after example of “beautiful.”  It’s the thinner, the taller, the blonder, the more, more, more of our society.

In thinking about where I wanted to go with this prompt, I started thinking about the women around me first…all of the things that make them beautiful in ways that I am not.

I started with my mother.  She is “kind, but not sweet,” as her best friend once told her.   More accurately, she is thoughtful.  I am not.  It doesn’t occur to me to do some of the little things for people that my mother does without thinking. 

I thought about my daughter, Isabel.  At age sixteen, she is at that stage of young womanhood where she is uncertain how to handle the changes in her body, and unaware of just how heartbreakingly beautiful she is becoming.

I thought about my cousins, Rachael, Lisa, Amy & Rudee.  Combined, they have a wicked sense of humor that delights me.  No one can make me laugh as hard as my cousins.

I thought about my best friends from high school, Lesley & Karen.  Both are extremely talented – Lesley has a voice that can make the angels weep and Karen is an accomplished artist.  We have stayed in touch all of these years, keeping tabs on each other through the internet community.

I am surrounded by lovely, smart, funny, generous, beautiful women.  In looking back at this list, reflecting on things I am not, I begin to understand that there are things about me that I bring to the table and that make me beautiful.

I am fiercely protective of those that I love and even of those that I feel are in the slightest danger of being bullied.

I have big 80’s hair, and always will.

I have a laugh that never fails to make my children giggle, even if they are mad at me.

I am a Star Wars nerd.

I have hazel eyes that are green when I cry.

I was once told by a complete stranger that I have a sexy bottom lip.

I’m good in an emergency or in a time of crisis…I’ll fall apart later.

I love with my whole heart, and forget the little hurts easily.

I know that there are other things, but this is good for now.  It’s not nearly as hard to hold the mirror up as I thought that it would be.  For that, I’m grateful.

