Tags

,

I’m sure that every single blog start up begins with the writer bumbling on about why they’re beginning a blog.  I’ve never been one to keep a diary, and a half-hearted attempt at an online journal a couple of years ago resulted in some mind-numbingly boring posts that turned routine way too quickly.

I change my mind & opinions very quickly, and I hate to be labeled.  I don’t even have bumper stickers on my car, because I don’t want to be pigeon-holed into a category.  I have a simple hibiscus sticker, but that’s for my mom.

So…why am I doing this?  The very notion of posting online, and creating something that gets “out there” to where I have no control is chilling.  That being said, I’ve been doing a lot of reading lately, and I recently signed up to participate in reverb10.  I’m fascinated by the things that people share, and it’s stirred me to action. 

With daily writing prompts, or assignments, I’m getting to stretch a creative muscle that has long been dormant.  Initially, I was just participating through Twitter; but, the prompts are getting increasingly more complex, and I’m finding that I need more than 140 characters to satisfy myself, as well as the requirements for the prompts.

I’m looking forward to the idea of this.  I have no idea what the “flavor” will be, but I hope to eventually find a voice that is less formal than this first post.  I certainly don’t talk this way, but the English major in me is holding the leash pretty tight.

Okay…let’s see what happens!

