View From a Waiting Room #augustbreak

20120828-204655.jpg

Sunday morning, long before sunrise, I got a text from Lisa. She was headed to the emergency room of the hospital near our house.

This woman has endured so much over the last year and a half. Her body has been through so much trauma. Surgeries, chemotherapy, radiation…

Back in July, she finally came to the end of a grueling year of chemo. She had reconstructive surgery, and things seemed fine. Then, at the beginning of August, the incision on the right side split. Imagine waking up from a nap, covered in blood. She had surgery to repair it and again, things seemed fine.

On Sunday morning, I woke up at 4:00, like I normally do. I looked at my phone and saw a text from Lisa. She had driven herself back up to the hospital after waking up to find that the incision had split again.

I threw some clothes on and headed to the hospital. I found her on the second floor, waiting for the nurse to call her back to pre-op. We talked and joked, much to the amusement of the staff. Her surgeon said that the skin on the side that had been radiated was taking longer to heal. He intended to stitch it differently and keep drains in longer.

The picture above is from the waiting room on the second floor. It overlooked a courtyard. I scrounged around for a tea bag, and texted updates to family. My cousin, Tom, has started a new job and is in South Dakota. He was anxious for news.

Lisa made it through the surgery with flying colors. I got her home & settled by 8:30. Isabel and I stayed with Lisa and her girls for the day, while Lisa dozed off and on.

We are hoping that things heal completely this time.

20120828-204718.jpg

I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s August Break project. For the month of August, we are sharing one photo a day on our blogs, Twitter and Facebook.

Join us, won’t you? Just click on the August Break icon & add your name to the blogroll.

20120828-204739.jpg

One thought on “View From a Waiting Room #augustbreak

  1. amanda says:

    I know I’m a million years late commenting on this, but I hope she has healed OK!

Leave a Reply

