August Break: August 8th Oh, happy day! #augustbreak #postaday2011

August Break – August 8th

I suppose that this is almost cheating.  It’s a picture of a picture.  This is a photo that sits on my desk at work.  It’s of David & I on our wedding day, August 8th, 1992.  It was taken at the reception.

We had a wonderful wedding…small, intimate, surrounded by family and friends.  Why in the world we ever decided to get married in August, I can’t remember.  Suffice it to say that we wanted to get married in May, but my mother had a fit, saying that she could never get a wedding together in seven months.

I had spent the day with my cousins.  We camped out an my aunt’s house.  She lived across the street from my grandparents, where the reception was to be held.  At one point, my cousin, Tom, and I had to take off to find more cake icing.  My best friend, and maid of honor, Karen, was decorating our cake for us.  We went to four different stores, but finally found some.  After that, we sat & watched “Father of the Bride” with Steve Martin & Diane Keaton.  We also took turns driving my poor grandmother to distraction.  One or the other of us would pop up in her house, as she was running the vacuum, putting some finishing touch on flowers or just trying to get herself ready.  She’d yell and chase us back out of the house.

Finally, it was time for everyone to get ready.  I looked around and realized that all of my cousins had disappeared to shower and get dressed; but, nobody had remembered that I needed a ride to the hotel next to the church, so that I could get dressed, too!

My cousin, Richard, borrowed his mom’s car and delivered me to the hotel.  I met up with my parents and got down to the business of getting ready.

The wedding itself was held in the same Methodist church where my own mother and father had been married.  It’s a lovely stone church with gorgeous stained class above the alter. 

I had the most beautiful bridal party…all red heads.  My cousins and my friend, Karen, looked stunning in their black floral gowns.  I looked like an ice queen, in comparison…blond and sparkling in my gown.  For as cool as I must have looked, it was tough…August in Phoenix is not comfortable, and my dress was enormous.

David was so handsome.  He had just gotten his long hair cut, and had decided on a gray tuxedo with tails.  Hey…it was the early 90’s!  Our groomsmen were in white tuxedo jackets, and were as dashing as my two little brothers and Dave’s friends could be.

During the wedding, we had to kneel on a kneeling rail.  At the rehearsal the night before, we’d bounced it a little bit, and that made me giggle during the actual ceremony. 

Once the wedding was over, we all went back to my grandparents’ house for the reception.  One of the highlights of the wedding was the cake cutting ceremony.  It’s a tradition in our family to use a Civil War sword that has been handed down through the generations of our family.  My grandfather made a wonderful/funny speech, and we sliced into the delicious cake.

When we left the reception, rather than throwing rice, the guests threw birdseed.  Because my gown was off the shoulder, I had birdseed EVERYWHERE!

My mother, my aunts and my grandmother worked so hard to make our day so special.  It was everything that I could ever have hoped for. 

Today, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about that day, and reflecting on the past nineteen years with David.  I am so lucky to be married to a man that I still find attractive, funny, kind, caring and loving.  I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone else.

I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s August Break project:

The plan is: you simply share  one photo  (or more!) per day on your blog – Monday to Friday, or every  day .Or whenever you feel moved to share. Using any camera – DSLR, compact,  Polaroid,  Holga, iPhone (my  choice), Instax, film or digital – with or  without words –  anything goes! – for the whole of August.  No pressure  – just looking at August through  your camera lens as a  way to be more  present this summer. And to have a  little break from  the pressures and  expectations of regular (wordy) blogging.

There are NO RULES, people! Just sunshine (hopefully) and a bit of fun. And lots of lovely photos to look at.

If you’d like to join, follow this link:  http://www.susannahconway.com/page/2/

7 thoughts on “August Break: August 8th Oh, happy day! #augustbreak #postaday2011

  1. Mary says:

    I love reading love stories and I am happy to have read yours, Brandee. Your wedding day sounded perfect. Happy anniversary and may your love continue to grow.

    • brandeewine says:

      Thank you, Mary. I am blessed with a wonderful family and a loving husband. This weekend, my brother’s fiancee is having her bridal shower. We’re getting ready to celebrate another wedding in the family. Such happiness!

  2. Roxanne says:

    There is so much wistful romance and nostalgia in this post that I found myself tearing up a little. Father of the Bride was one of my favorite films growing up — how can anyone not love Steve Martin’s overprotective paranoia and love for his daughter? I love your bridal party of all red-heads.. and I love your picture of a picture. May the two of you lead a long, happy and loving life together and may your love continue to inspire the rest of us.

    • brandeewine says:

      We had a wonderful day. I look back now…we were so young! I miss having my family all around me. We’ve all gone very different ways, spread out around the world. We’re getting ready to celebrate my brother’s wedding. Looking forward to having everyone close again for such happiness. Thank you for your well wishes!

  3. amanda says:

    that is so sweet!!

  4. Stereo says:

    Sniffling now. Happy Anniversary again to you and David. You are a beautiful couple and an inspiration.

  5. Tracy says:

    happy anniversary! what a handsome couple you are! much love to you both, brandee!! love the story about the sword!!

Leave a Reply

